Know Ayurveda



Gyanendriyas are sensory organs. They are the organs of perception. Since they are the tools to acquire "gyana" the knowledge or information, they are termed so. They are five in numbers-

  1. Akshi (The Eyes)
  2. Karna (The Ears)
  3. Nasika (The Nostrils)
  4. Jihwa (The Tongue)
  5. Twacha (The Skin)

These five are termed as Indriyadhisthana. It means, the prime location of sensory perception. EveryGyanendriya is a complex system and not just, one or two organs. Each of these Gyanendriyas have a definite object of perception. This object of a sensory organ is termed as Indriyartha.